Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Princeton Public Library is governed by an independent board of trustees as stipulated in the New Jersey Statutes Annotated, Title 40, Chapter 54, Libraries and Reading Rooms.

The board consists of nine members: seven appointed by the mayor of Princeton and two members designated by statute: the mayor of Princeton and the superintendent of the Princeton Public Schools or their designees. Appointed board members serve five-year terms, statutory appointments are one-year terms.

Role of the Board

The board of trustees is the legally designated governing board for the Princeton Public Library responsible for the overall welfare of the library and the customers it serves. The board’s responsibilities are defined by New Jersey State Statute and include establishment of library policies, fiduciary oversight and hiring the library’s executive director.

Library Trustees 2024

  • Robert Ginsberg, President
  • Christopher Van Buren, Vice President
  • Jeffrey Liao, Treasurer
  • Sebnem Tuzun, Secretary
  • Keisha Smith-Carrington, Superintendent’s Designee
  • Eve Niedergang, Mayor’s Designee
  • Holley Barreto
  • Stephanie Oster


The board approved the library’s Bylaws at the April 19, 2023, meeting.

Meeting Schedule and Board Minutes

Board meetings are held at the library on the third Wednesday of the month at 6 p.m., unless otherwise noticed. The board of trustees complies with the requirements of the State of New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act. Members of the public are invited to attend.

2024 Meetings

Annual schedule

The meeting agenda will be posted at least 48 hours prior to the meeting date. The minutes will be posted following the approval by the Board of Trustees.

Jan. 17
Feb. 21
March 20
April 17
May 15
June 20 (Thursday)
July 17
Aug. 21
Sept. 18 (Newsroom)
Oct. 16
Nov. 20
Dec. 18

Previous Year Meetings

Minutes of prior meetings are available in the library’s Administration Office. Contact Karen Rackley, 609-924-9529, ext. 1250, or

Scroll to Top